Back to Top ^

Financial Support Systems > Rates and Allowances > Rates for Placement and Related Services

Rates for Placement and Related Services

0900-511.10 | Revision Date: 12/07/16

Overview

This policy guide provides a listing of rates for the all AFDC-FC Rates, the D-Rate, F-Rate, AAP Rates, Foster Family Agency (FFA)A non-profit organization licensed by the State of California to recruit, certify, train, and provide professional support to foster parents. Rates, Group Home Rates, SILP Rates, Rates for Intensive Services, WraparoundWraparound is a multi-agency initiative. The Wraparound approach is a family-centered, strengths-based, needs-driven planning and service delivery process. It advocates for family-professional partnership to ensure family voice, choice and ownership. Wraparound children and family teams benefits children by working with the family to ensure Permanency. Wraparound is funded through Title IV-E funds. The average length of involvement with the program is 8 months. The primary focus of the program is to keep children out of residential placements and maintain them safely in their family and community. Services, Infant Supplement/Whole Family Foster Home/Shared Responsibility Plan Rates, Transitional Housing Placement Plus Foster Care Rates, Dual Agency Rates (including Rates for AAP), and information on the continuation of AFDC-FC benefits beyond age 19.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Policy

Basic Rate – Schedule “B”

Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – D-Rate

Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – F-Rate

Non-Federal and Federal Kinship Guardianships and State AFDC-FC NRLG Rates

Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Basic Rates

Foster Family Agency (FFA) Rates

Intensive Treatment Foster Care/Multidimensional Treatment Foster Care Rates

Wraparound Rates

Transitional Housing Placement Plus Foster Care (THP+FC) Rates

Supervised Independent Living Placement (SILP) Rates

Group Home Rates

Out-of-State Group Home Rates

Infant Supplement/Whole Family Foster Home/Shared Responsibility Plan (SRP)

Dual Agency Rates

Statewide Dual Agency Rates

Continuation of AFDC-FC Benefits Beyond Age 19

Helpful Links

Referenced Policy Guides

Statutes

Version Summary

This policy guide was updated from the 12/09/15 version per All County Letter (ACL) 16-55, ACL 16-67 to reflect the 2.76% California Necessities Index (CNI) increase and other increases. In addition, the updates include information on the new rate structure and rates per the implementation of the Continuum Care Reform (CCR) effective, January 1, 2017, per ACL 16-79.

POLICY

Basic Rate – Schedule “B”

(Includes relative caregivers and Nonrelative Extended Family Member (NREFM) caregivers)

 

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$707

5-8

$765

9-11

$805

12-14

$843

15-20

$883

Effective January 1, 2017, a basic level rate of $889 will be issued for all new placements of a child/youth in one of the following settings: Resource Families, county foster family homes (FFHs), Relatives (including both Federal and non-Federal relative cases and regardless of participation in the Approved RelativeFor the purpose of placement and foster care payments: An adult who is related to the child by blood, adoption or affinity within the fifth degree of kinship, including stepparents, stepsiblings, and all relatives whose status is preceded by the words, "great," "great-great" or "grand" or the spouse of any of these persons even if the marriage was terminated by death or dissolution. Caregiver Program). Nonrelative Extended Family Members home, and a Nonminor Dependent in a Supervised Independent Living Placement.

Back to Policy  

Specialized Care Increment (SCI)

The Specialized Care Increment will not receive a cost-of-living adjustment in fiscal year 2016-17, per ACL 16-57. However it will receive a CNI increase of 2.76% to the basic rate. Consistent with the realignment of funding, there will be no state share of cost for any adjustment.

Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – D-Rate

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$1,483

5-8

$1,479

9-11

$1,468

12-14

$1,458

15-20

$1,445

 

For more information on the D-Rate, refer to the Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – D-Rate policy guide.

Back to Policy  

Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – F-Rate

F-1

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$1,076

5-8

$1,068

9-11

$1,059

12-14

$1,049

15-20

$1,033

 

F-2

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$1,222

5-8

$1,217

9-11

$1,206

12-14

$1,197

15-20

$1,180

 

F-3

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$1,483

5-8

$1,479

9-11

$1,468

12-14

$1,458

15-20

$1,445

 

F-4

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$1,705

5-8

$1,697

9-11

$1,688

12-14

$1,680

15-20

$1,660

 

For more information on the F-Rate, refer to the Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – F-Rate policy guide.

Back to Policy  

Non-Federal and Federal Kinship Guardianships and State AFDC-FC Non-Related Legal Guardian (NRLG) Rates

Guardianships granted prior to May 1, 2011:

 

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$517

5-8

$562

9-11

$602

12-14

$664

15-20

$728

 

Guardianships granted on or after to May 1, 2011:

 

Age

Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$707

5-8

$765

9-11

$805

12-14

$843

15-20

$883

New placements of a child or youth (on or after January 1, 2017) who is determined to be eligible to receive assistance under Kin-GAP, the NRLG Program, and AAP will receive the new level rate of $889.

Back to Policy  

Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Basic Rates

The adjusted rate schedule reflects the CNI increase of 2.76% for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016-2017, effective July 1, 2016. The negotiated AAP rate continues to be based on the child's needs and the circumstances of the family and may include the Specialized Care Increment (SCI)A rate paid in addition to the basic care rate for the care of children/youth with special needs., if eligible.

 

Initial AAP agreements signed on or after October 1, 1992 through December 31, 2007 and the adoption was finalized before May 27, 2011:

 

Age

Rate Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$493

5-8

$536

9-11

$581

12-14

$633

15-20

$693

 

Initial AAP agreements signed on or after January 1, 2008 through May 27, 2011 and the adoption was finalized on or before May 27, 2011:

 

Age

Rate Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$517

5-8

$562

9-11

$609

12-14

$664

15-20

$728

 

Initial AAP agreements signed and the adoption was finalized on or after May 27, 2011:

 

Age

Rate Effective July 1, 2016

0-4

$707

5-8

$765

9-11

$805

12-14

$843

15-20

$883

Effective January 1, 2017, the rate structure for families receiving AAP on behalf of an eligible child whose AAP agreement was signed prior to May 27, 2011 and whose adoption was finalized prior to May 27, 2011, will not change.

 

Consistent with existing law, AAP agreements signed on or after May 27, 2011 or for AAP eligible adoptions that were finalized or or after May 27, 2011, may be reassessed based on the changing needs of the child or the circumstances of the adoptive parent.

 

Effective January 1, 2017, following a reassessment pursuant to the above, the AAP basic rate may be increased to the new basic level rate.

Back to Policy

Foster Family Agency (FFA) Rates

FFA Treatment Rates – Effective July 1, 2016

Age

0-4

5-8

9-11

12-14

15-20

Basic Rate

$707

$765

$805

$843

$883

Child Increment

$189

$189

$189

$189

$189

Minimum Total to FFA Certified Home

$896

$954

$994

$1,032

$1,072

Social Work

$340

$340

$340

$340

$340

Administrative

$572

$593

$611

$643

$672

Total Rate

$1,808

$1,887

$1,945

$2,015

$2,084

 

FFA Non-Treatment Rates – Effective July 1, 2016

Age

0-4

5-8

9-11

12-14

15-20

Basic Rate

$707

$765

$805

$843

$883

 

Effective January 1, 2017, all new and existing FFA Resource Families (RFs) and certified families will be paid according to the rate structure displayed below:

Age

0-4

5-8

9-11

12-14

15-20

FFA Certified Family $896 $954 $994 $1,032 $1,072
Social Worker $340 $340 $340 $340 $340
Services & Supports $156 $156 $156 $156 $156
RFA  $48 $48 $48 $48 $48

Administrative

$672 $672 $672 $672 $672

Total Rate

$2,112

$2,170

$2,210

$2,248

$2,288

 

Back to Policy

Intensive Treatment Foster Care/Multidimensional Treatment Foster Care (ITFC/MTFC) Rates

SB1013 authorized an interim increase in the ITFC/MTFC rates, changed the services hours and rate levels, and increased the minimum amount paid to the certified foster parent. The interim rate increase will be in effect for three (3) fiscal years beginning on July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015 by an amount equal to the CNI computed pursuant to WIC section 11453. SB 79, Chapter 20, Statutes of 2015, extended the interim rates through December 31, 2016. Effective July 1, 2016, the 2.76 CNI increase applies to the minimum reimbursement rate which results in a corresponding increase to the standard rate.

 

Schedule of Service and Rate Levels –  Effective July 1, 2016

Service and Rate Level

In-Home Support Hours/Month

Standard Rate

Minimum Reimbursement to Certified Home

Level I*

81-114 hours

$5,803

$2,321

Level II*

47-80 hours $5,020 $2,321
Level III** Less than 47 hours $4,256 $2,321

*Children may not be placed at a rate level of I or II for more than six months unless it is determined to be in the best interest of the child by the child's county interagency review team or the county placing agency, FFA, and the child's certified foster parents. Extensions may be granted in six month increments.

**Children at Rate Level III must receive behavior de-escalation and other support services on a flexible as-needed basis from an in-home support counselor. The FFA must provide one full-time support counselor for every 20 children placed at Level III.

 

As a result of the Los Angeles (LA) County Title IV-E Child Welfare Demonstration Capped Allocation Project, the LA County ITFC program has been granted an exception to the state ITFC rate structure. This exceptions allows the ITFC providers to receive the Level I monthly rate for all ITFC youth under their care regardless of acuity level provided the youth has completed the ITFC referral process and met the basic eligibility standards for ITFC services prior to placement.

 

Effective January 1, 2017, the ITFC program will remain in effect and rates will continue to be paid for current or newly established ITFC programs per ACL 16-57, until further notice of Phase II implementation of the CCR.

Back to Policy  

Wraparound Rates

RCL

Non-Federal Child

Federally Eligible Child

10/11

$8,265

$4,133

13

$9,801

$4,901

Commencing January 1, 2017, the Wraparound rate will be $8,573 which was calculated based on the average of the RCLs 10.5 and 13 in effect for the FY 2014-15.

Back to Policy  

Transitional Housing Placement Plus Foster Care (THP+FC)

Effective July 1, 2016, the 2.76 percent CNI increase applies to the THP+FC rates and is reflected below:

 

THP+FC Placement Type

Rates Effective July 1, 2015

Single Site Housing $3,090
Remote Site Housing $3,090
Host Family Model $2,459

Supervised Independent Living Placement (SILP) Rates

All non-minor dependents (NMDs) in SILP Placements receive the Basic foster care rate of $883 plus the applicable clothing allowance. NMDs in SILPs are not eligible to receive Specialized Care Increment (SCI) Rates. Parenting NMDs can receive the Infant Supplement when residing in a SILP. In addition to the Basic foster care rate and Infant Supplement, parenting NMDs are eligible to receive an additional $200 per month, after completion and approval of a Parenting Support Plan (PSP) with an identified responsible adult mentor and determination by the county agency that the identified responsible adult meets specified criteria. For more information on SILPs, refer to the Supervised Independent Living Placement (SILP) policy guide.

Back to Policy

Group Home Rates

Schedule of Rate for Children –  Effective July 1, 2016

RCL

Point Ranges

Standard Rate

1

Under 60

$2,457

2

60-89

$3,069

3

90-119

$3,681

4

120-149

$4,290

5

150-179

$4,899

6

180-209

$5,513

7

210-239

$6,124

8

240-269

$6,738

9

270-299

$7,347

10

300-329

$7,960

11

330-359

$8,569

12

360-389

$9,182

13

390-419

$9,801

14

420 & Up

$10,410

As of January 1, 2017, the CDSS will no longer issue rates based on the GH RCL system for new providers. Effective January 1, 2017, the new Short Term Residential Therapeutic Program (STRTP) rate is $12,036.00. For all out-of-state GH placements, the rate the county pays is based on the out-of-state GH rate; however, the rate paid cannot exceed the new STRTP rate.

Out-of-State Group Homes

The rate paid for California group home placements made out-of-state is the rate established by the rate-setting authority of the other state. The county cannot claim federal financial participation for any rate amount exceeding the current fiscal year’s RCL 14 or exceeding the rate determined by the rate-setting authority of the state in which the facility is located. The County is responsible for ensuring that the out-of-state facility is licensed or approved in accordance to the state it resides in, and that it meets the licensing standards of the CDSS Community Care Licensing Division. The County is also responsible for determining if any non-allowable costs are included in the rate and ensuring that only allowable costs are claimed for federal or state AFDC-FC reimbursement.

Back to Policy

Infant Supplement and Whole Family Foster Home and Shared Responsibility Plan (SRP)

Non-Dependent Infant:

 

Placement Type

Rate for Dependent Minor Parent

Rate for Non-Dependent Infant

Licensed Foster Home, Foster Family Agency (FFA), Relative Caregiver, NREFM, or Group Home

  • AFDC-FC Basic Rate (plus SCI if appropriate); or
  • Appropriate RCL is in a Group Home
  • Infant Supplement of $900
  • Infant Supplement of $1,379 if in a Group Home placement with the minor parent

Whole Family Foster Home

(Group Home placements and non-related legal guardianship through Probate Court are not eligible to receive this rate)

  • AFDC-FC Basic Rate (plus SCI if appropriate)
  • Infant Supplement equivalent of the AFDC-FC Basic Rate based on age of the non-dependent infant

Whole Family Foster Home with a SRP

(Group Home placements and non-related legal guardianship through Probate Court are not eligible to receive this rate)

  • AFDC-FC Basic Rate (plus SCI if appropriate)
  • Infant Supplement equivalent of the AFDC-FC Basic Rate based on age of the non-dependent infant; and
  • An additional $200 per month

Youth in receipt of Kinship-Guardianship Assistance Payment (Kin-GAP) Program benefits are also entitled to receive the infant supplement.

 

Dependent Infant:

 

Placement Type

Rate for Dependent Minor Parent

Rate for Dependent Infant

Licensed Foster Home, Relative Caregiver, NREFM

  • AFDC-FC Basic Rate (plus SCI if appropriate)

 

  • Equivalent of the AFDC-FC Basic Rate for the dependent infant (plus SCI if appropriate)

FFA

  • Applicable FFA Rate
  • Applicable FFA Rates for the dependent infant placed with the dependent minor parent in the certified home of an FFA

Group Home

  • Group Home RCL level of placement
  • Infant Supplement  of $890

Back to Policy

Dual Agency Rates

Age

July 1, 2016

Birth to 3 Years

$1,041

3 Years & Older

$2,328

 

* Also applies to children under three (3) with a developmental disability, per WIC 11464 and as determined by a Regional Center.

 

For more information on Dual Agency Rates, refer to the Dual Agency Rates policy guide.

Back to Policy

State-Wide Dual Agency Rates

Age

July 1, 2016

Birth to 3 Years

$1,041

3 Years & Older

$2,328

 

For more information on Dual Agency Rates, refer to the Dual Agency Rates policy guide.

Back to Policy

Continuation of AFDC-FC Benefits Beyond Age 19

ACL 12-43, SB 1013, commonly known as the “Child Welfare Realignment Budget Trailer Bill,” extends the eligibility age for AFDC-FC benefits. NMDs who turned nineteen (19) years old prior to January 1, 2013 who have been receiving AFDC-FC or CalWORKs benefits between January 1, 2012 and December 31, 2013 can continue to receive those benefits up to age twenty-one (21), provided they continue to meet all the eligibility requirements, including the participation conditions. This also applied to Non-Related Legal Guardianships (NRLG), the Kin-GAP Program, and AAP payment benefits.

Back to Policy

HELPFUL LINKS

Referenced Policy Guides

0100-510.40, Services for Teen Parents

0100-560.40, Supervised Independent Living Placement (SILP)SILP is a supervised and approved placement that is part of the Extended Foster Care program. SILP is a flexible and the least restrictive placement setting. It can include: an apartment (alone or with roommates); shared living situations; room and board arrangements; room rented from a landlord, friend or relative, or former caregiver; or college dorms.

0900-511.12, Dual Agency Rates

0900-522.10, Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – D-Rate

0900-522.11, Specialized Care Increment (SCI) – F-Rate

Statutes

All County Letter (ACL) 12-43 – AFDC-FC California Necessities Index (CNI) Increases and Other Rate Increases; Clarification of the Continuation of AFDC-FC Benefits Beyond Age 19.

 

ACL 15-67 - States that a nonminor parent is eligible for an additional $200 per month after the completion and approval of a parenting Support Plan (PSP) with an identified responsible adult mentor and determination by the county agency that the identified responsible adult meets specified criteria.

 

ACL 16-55 - Adoption Assistance Program (AAP)A mandatory statewide program that provides financial support to families in order to facilitate the adoption of children who would otherwise be in long-term foster care. The intent of this program is to remove limited financial resources as a barrier to adoption. Rates.

 

ACL 16-57 - AFDC-FC California Necessities Index (CNI) Increases and Other Rate Increases

 

ACL 16-79 - Information About the Continuum Of Care Reform (CCR) Home-Based Family Care (HBFC) and Short Term Residential Therapeutic Program (STRTP) Rates Structure and Conversion Process from the Old Rate Structure to the New Rate Structure .

 

Back to Helpful Links